Hondo Tower and the promise for Brixton

There are plans to build this tower in the middle of Brixton - handing more control over to the landlord that already runs two of the markets. Here is why I think it’s a bad idea.

Suse Steed
12 min readAug 25, 2020
This is an impression of the new tower in Brixton being debated today, from Hondo Enterprises

It’s a shiny project. It promises jobs and regeneration. You might ask what I know about shiny projects in Brixton - well, I was involved in one of my own.

You might have heard of the Brixton Pound. It’s a local currency in Brixton, Brixton’s own money. You might be surprised to hear I’m not its biggest fan. You might be surprised I say this because I was one of the people who started it.

I found it hard to talk about the currency after I left because it’s a project with lots of elements, lots of wonderful people, moving parts. I thought it best to not mention it, it’s my Macbeth.

But as the Brixton Pound has officially paused it seems like a good time to see the lessons learned. If you want to join in the debate about where it goes next you can.

I’m not doing that. I’m reflecting on the early days of the project and I don’t speak for anyone else here, just myself.

An interesting idea

--

--